Picture
Dengue carrying mosquito is everywhere, and as a mom, it scares me to death.

I immediately started my quest for mosquito repellent even my baby was just 6 months old (the time dengue was a widespread in our place). And because she was too young for such tough lotions my quest turned out to be a very challenging task.

 I set my mind then: I wanted a repellent that’s tough and safe at the same time considering that it was for my little child. I asked a friend and she suggested that I should choose a deet-free repellent because it’s safe for babies. She never suggested any product or brand though but I was very thankful for her advise.

According to my internet research:
        Deet Free means there is NO N,N-Diethyl-meta-toluamide in the product. DEET is the most common active ingredient for mosquito/insect repellants. As a precaution, makers advised that it should not be used underclothing or on damage skin because it CAN act as an irritant, and in rare cases, can cause harsh epidermal reactions.

Then I found Biteblock Insect Repellent for kids. What struck me most was that biteblock is deet free, not hot on skin, non-greasy and has nice powder scent, and most importantly, tested safe for babies 6 months and up (mild and hypoallergenic). Wow! I bought one for only 78 pesos, the one in 50ml tube.

At first, I was still a little hesitant to apply it on my baby’s skin despite the promising words on its label, perhaps it is just normal for mom’s to worry, right? But I also didn’t want to risk my child on having dengue (knock on wood); so I put it on her and was happy that it didn’t bother her. Plus it provides longer protection up to 8 hours! Just amazing.

I super love Biteblock for my baby. She is now 21months old and is still using the same brand of insect repellent.

So mommies choose DEET-free repellents for your babies, choose Biteblock! :-)

                            



Shay
10/17/2012 06:46:14 pm

Thanks for such a nice blog! :)

Reply

Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Call me "Girl" . I am a 26 years old woman, a Filipina who loves to write and say something about things :D
    I want to write about motherhood, travels and foods..everything that excites me! 
    Warning:
    My English is not that outstanding hehe but I know it's understandable. :P
     

    Archives

    October 2012

    Categories

    All
    Baby Care
    Educational Toys
    Food
    Travel