Picture
It's me eating durian :P
When I was in my elementary years, I hated durian because of its smell and more because of its taste. I wondered then why other people liked it so much!  I find it awful.

Of course that was when I was still a poor ignorant kid who lacked the talent of appreciating things.. (hehe) yes, ignorant!

I started loving this fruit when my cousins teased me “ignorant”. That was also the same accusation coming from my very own family when I hesitated to eat durian every time there was a family gathering- “ignorant”…I was challenged enough to refuse the dare. My cousins all laughed at me and were trying to make fun of me. (argh!)

I tried to muster all my bravery (haha, I know it’s exaggerated but I really did) and at last I took a bite and to my amazement, it was wow! Why I never liked this delicious fruit before! Thinking of the times I missed eating such a creamy flavorful durian made me very remorseful. (haha)

Now, whenever I have the money and durian is super available, I will make sure that I will never miss a thing! 

Here in our place the price varies from 30Php/kilo to 50Php/kilo and durian can weigh from 3 kilos to maybe 10 kilos the highest? Hehe I am not so sure ‘coz I am used to buy durian which is less than 5 kilos hehehe. Yes. It’s a little expensive but it worth the money!

Durian is available in different types/breeds. I am not very particular with it but there varieties that is more juicy and yummy than the other.

Health facts:
      Durian fruit contains high amount of sugar, potassium, vitamin C and amino acids. It is also a good source of carbohydrates, fats and protein. The fruit serves as a remedy for fever by boiling its roots or leaf and drink the decoction.

Durian is considered as a high-glycemic food (Foods that raise glucose to varying levels) thus, recommending minimal consumption. As said, too much is bad for the health.  So, eat wise! :P



Your comment will be posted after it is approved.


Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Call me "Girl" . I am a 26 years old woman, a Filipina who loves to write and say something about things :D
    I want to write about motherhood, travels and foods..everything that excites me! 
    Warning:
    My English is not that outstanding hehe but I know it's understandable. :P
     

    Archives

    October 2012

    Categories

    All
    Baby Care
    Educational Toys
    Food
    Travel